ZacksTrade vs SoFi Invest Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)

ZacksTrade and SoFi Invest are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.


Head-to-Head Comparison: ZacksTrade vs SoFi Invest (2026)
Feature ZacksTrade SoFi Invest
Website https://www.zackstrade.com/ https://www.sofi.com/invest/
Broker Type Discount Discount (self-directed online brokerage + robo-advisor)
Trading: Stock & ETF? Yes Yes
ETF & Stock commission $0.01 per share (minimum $1); 1% of trade value below $1/share $0 commissions
Fractional Shares? No Yes ($5 min on select stocks/ETFs)
Percent Allocations? Yes; Rebalance Portfolio No
Crypto Trading? No Yes. SoFi Crypto offers 28 cryptocurrencies (as of May 2026); requires SoFi Checking & Savings.
Crypto Fees Not applicable Tiered 1.90%/1.50%/1.25%/0.90% of trade value by monthly volume (<$1k/$1-5k/$5-10k/$10k+); possible ≤0.10% spread.
Options Trading? Yes Yes. Options trading available (long calls/puts, covered calls, cash-secured puts; 0DTE and IRAs).
Options Fee $1 for first contract + $0.75 per additional $0 commissions and $0 contract fees. Regulatory fees apply (e.g., ORF $0.02, OCC $0.025 per contract).
Bond Trading Available? Yes; corporate and government bonds No. Individual bonds not offered; exposure via bond ETFs and mutual funds only.
Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? Yes Yes. Receives payment-for-order-flow revenue share via Apex Clearing.
Interface: Web trading? Yes Yes. Full trading on SoFi mobile app (iOS/Android) and sofi.com website.
Desktop trading? Yes; Zacks Trade Pro/Client Portal/app No
API Trading? No No
Mutual Funds: Offered? Yes Yes
Total Mutual Funds Not publicly stated 6,800+
NTF Mutual Funds Not publicly stated 6,800
Non-NTF Fund Fee $27.50 0.2% of purchase (max $20); 2% for interval/tender funds
Early Redemption Fee? Varies by fund Yes (no SoFi short-term fee)
Redemption Hold (Days) Fund-specific Fund-specific (CDSC varies by fund); no SoFi-imposed hold.
Early Redemption Fee Fund-specific Fund-specific CDSC (varies); SoFi charges none (purchase tx fee 0.2% max $20).
Accounts: Margin Accounts? Yes Yes (Self-Directed; apply, $2,000 min).
IRAs Offered? Yes; Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover Yes: Traditional, Roth, and SEP IRAs.
HSAs Offered? No No
Money Market Sweep? No Yes (optional FDIC bank sweep via Apex).
CDs Offered? No No
Robo-Advisor: Offered No Yes
Robo-Advisor Service None SoFi Automated Investing (Robo Investing)
Robo-Advisor Fees Not applicable 0.25% annual wrap/advisory fee plus fund expenses; $50 min.
Basics: Headquarters Chicago, IL San Francisco, CA
Year Founded 2013 2011
Clearing Firm Interactive Brokers LLC Apex Clearing Corporation
Local Branches? No; online broker No
New Account Minimum $0 $0

Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com


Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio

Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.

Recipe Investing Logo

Compare ZacksTrade to All Brokers