ZacksTrade vs Firstrade Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)
ZacksTrade and Firstrade are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.
| Feature | ZacksTrade | Firstrade |
|---|---|---|
| Website | https://www.zackstrade.com/ | https://www.firstrade.com/ |
| Broker Type | Discount | Discount (self-directed online brokerage) |
| Trading: Stock & ETF? | Yes | Yes |
| ETF & Stock commission | $0.01 per share (minimum $1); 1% of trade value below $1/share | $0 online ($19.95 broker-assisted) |
| Fractional Shares? | No | Yes (most U.S. stocks/ETFs; $5 min) |
| Percent Allocations? | Yes; Rebalance Portfolio | No |
| Crypto Trading? | No | No |
| Crypto Fees | Not applicable | N/A |
| Options Trading? | Yes | Yes |
| Options Fee | $1 for first contract + $0.75 per additional | $0 commission and $0/contract; plus pass-through ORF (~$0.02/contract from Jul 2026) and SEC sell fees |
| Bond Trading Available? | Yes; corporate and government bonds | Yes (web only; net yield basis/markup) |
| Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? | Yes | Yes |
| Interface: Web trading? | Yes | Yes |
| Desktop trading? | Yes; Zacks Trade Pro/Client Portal/app | No |
| API Trading? | No | No |
| Mutual Funds: Offered? | Yes | Yes |
| Total Mutual Funds | Not publicly stated | 11,000+ |
| NTF Mutual Funds | Not publicly stated | 11,000+ |
| Non-NTF Fund Fee | $27.50 | $0 online; $19.95 broker-assisted (no-load) |
| Early Redemption Fee? | Varies by fund | No ($19.95 if held <90 days) |
| Redemption Hold (Days) | Fund-specific | 90 days |
| Early Redemption Fee | Fund-specific | $19.95 |
| Accounts: Margin Accounts? | Yes | Yes (approval; $2,000 min assets; not IRAs/custodial/ESA) |
| IRAs Offered? | Yes; Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover | Yes (Traditional, Roth, SEP, SIMPLE, Rollover) |
| HSAs Offered? | No | No |
| Money Market Sweep? | No | Yes (FDIC sweep via Apex; 0.15%; not margin/SIMPLE IRA/ESA) |
| CDs Offered? | No | Yes (primary $30; secondary net yield) |
| Robo-Advisor: Offered | No | No |
| Robo-Advisor Service | None | N/A |
| Robo-Advisor Fees | Not applicable | N/A |
| Basics: Headquarters | Chicago, IL | Flushing, NY |
| Year Founded | 2013 | 1985 |
| Clearing Firm | Interactive Brokers LLC | Apex Clearing Corporation |
| Local Branches? | No; online broker | Yes (Flushing, NY HQ office, Mon-Fri 10am-4pm ET); no nationwide network |
| New Account Minimum | $0 | $0 |
Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com
Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio
Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.
Compare ZacksTrade to All Brokers
- Compare ZacksTrade to Ally Invest
- Compare ZacksTrade to Alpaca
- Compare ZacksTrade to Axos Invest
- Compare ZacksTrade to Charles Schwab
- Compare ZacksTrade to E*Trade
- Compare ZacksTrade to Fidelity
- Compare ZacksTrade to Firstrade
- Compare ZacksTrade to Interactive Brokers
- Compare ZacksTrade to M1 Finance
- Compare ZacksTrade to Merrill Edge
- Compare ZacksTrade to Public.com
- Compare ZacksTrade to Robinhood
- Compare ZacksTrade to SoFi Invest
- Compare ZacksTrade to SogoTrade
- Compare ZacksTrade to Stash
- Compare ZacksTrade to Tastytrade
- Compare ZacksTrade to Tradestation
- Compare ZacksTrade to Tradier
- Compare ZacksTrade to Vanguard
- Compare ZacksTrade to WeBull
