Tradier vs Merrill Edge Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)
Tradier and Merrill Edge are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.
| Feature | Tradier | Merrill Edge |
|---|---|---|
| Website | https://tradier.com/ | https://www.merrilledge.com/ |
| Broker Type | API/Discount | Self-directed discount/online brokerage |
| Trading: Stock & ETF? | Yes | Yes |
| ETF & Stock commission | $0.35/trade Lite; $0 Pro/Pro Plus | $0 online commissions (ETF sales $0.01–$0.03 per $1,000 principal) |
| Fractional Shares? | No | No |
| Percent Allocations? | No | No |
| Crypto Trading? | No | No |
| Crypto Fees | Not applicable | N/A |
| Options Trading? | Yes | Yes |
| Options Fee | $0.35/contract Lite; $0 Pro; $0.10 Pro Plus (index options) | $0 + $0.65 per contract online; $0 exercise/assignment. Broker-assisted extra. |
| Bond Trading Available? | No | Yes |
| Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? | Yes | No; limited options-exchange payments |
| Interface: Web trading? | Yes | Yes |
| Desktop trading? | Yes; Tradier Desktop | No (MarketPro is browser-based, not a downloadable desktop app) |
| API Trading? | Yes; Tradier Brokerage API | No (no public retail trading API) |
| Mutual Funds: Offered? | Yes | Yes |
| Total Mutual Funds | Not publicly stated | Thousands |
| NTF Mutual Funds | Not publicly stated | Many NTF (exact count unpublished) |
| Non-NTF Fund Fee | $30 transaction; $10 NTF ticket | $19.95 per online transaction (buys, sells, exchanges) for no-load TF funds |
| Early Redemption Fee? | Varies by fund | No ($39.95 short-term redemption fee on NTF funds held <90 days) |
| Redemption Hold (Days) | Fund-specific | 90 days (NTF funds) |
| Early Redemption Fee | Fund-specific | $39.95 (NTF funds held <90 days) |
| Accounts: Margin Accounts? | Yes | Yes |
| IRAs Offered? | Yes; Traditional and Roth | Yes (Traditional, Roth, SEP) |
| HSAs Offered? | No | Yes (Individual HSA) |
| Money Market Sweep? | No | Yes |
| CDs Offered? | No | Yes (brokered CDs) |
| Robo-Advisor: Offered | No | Yes |
| Robo-Advisor Service | None | Merrill Guided Investing |
| Robo-Advisor Fees | Not applicable | 0.45% AUM online; 0.85% with advisor (monthly in advance). Preferred Rewards discounts 0.05-0.15%. Fund expenses extra. |
| Basics: Headquarters | Charlotte, NC | New York, NY |
| Year Founded | 2012 | 2010 |
| Clearing Firm | Apex Clearing Inc. | Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. (self-clearing) |
| Local Branches? | No | Yes (~3,530 Bank of America financial centers, U.S., as of Q2 2026) |
| New Account Minimum | $0 (self-directed) |
Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com
Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio
Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.
Compare Tradier to All Brokers
- Compare Tradier to Ally Invest
- Compare Tradier to Alpaca
- Compare Tradier to Axos Invest
- Compare Tradier to Charles Schwab
- Compare Tradier to E*Trade
- Compare Tradier to Fidelity
- Compare Tradier to Firstrade
- Compare Tradier to Interactive Brokers
- Compare Tradier to M1 Finance
- Compare Tradier to Merrill Edge
- Compare Tradier to Public.com
- Compare Tradier to Robinhood
- Compare Tradier to SoFi Invest
- Compare Tradier to SogoTrade
- Compare Tradier to Stash
- Compare Tradier to Tastytrade
- Compare Tradier to Tradestation
- Compare Tradier to Vanguard
- Compare Tradier to WeBull
- Compare Tradier to ZacksTrade
