Tradier vs Charles Schwab Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)

Tradier and Charles Schwab are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.


Head-to-Head Comparison: Tradier vs Charles Schwab (2026)
Feature Tradier Charles Schwab
Website https://tradier.com/ https://www.schwab.com/
Broker Type API/Discount Full-service
Trading: Stock & ETF? Yes Yes
ETF & Stock commission $0.35/trade Lite; $0 Pro/Pro Plus $0 online (listed stocks/ETFs)
Fractional Shares? No Yes (most U.S.-listed stocks/ETFs, from $1)
Percent Allocations? No Yes (Personalized Portfolio Builder)
Crypto Trading? No Yes, via Schwab Crypto (BTC/ETH currently; not NY/LA/territories)
Crypto Fees Not applicable 0.75% of notional value (min $0.01) per buy/sell
Options Trading? Yes Yes
Options Fee $0.35/contract Lite; $0 Pro; $0.10 Pro Plus (index options) $0 online commission + $0.65 per contract
Bond Trading Available? No Yes
Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? Yes Yes (receives PFOF rebates)
Interface: Web trading? Yes Yes
Desktop trading? Yes; Tradier Desktop Yes, thinkorswim desktop (Windows/Mac; free for brokerage clients)
API Trading? Yes; Tradier Brokerage API Yes, Trader API (Individual) for self-directed retail accounts (orders, data; via developer.schwab.com)
Mutual Funds: Offered? Yes Yes
Total Mutual Funds Not publicly stated ~14,500 from 600+ families (incl. 4,000+ NTF)
NTF Mutual Funds Not publicly stated 4,000+ (no-load via OneSource & others)
Non-NTF Fund Fee $30 transaction; $10 NTF ticket Up to $74.95/buy online ($0 sell); some $49.95; 8.5% cap, <$100 exempt
Early Redemption Fee? Varies by fund No; $49.95 Schwab fee on NTF funds held ≤90 days (some exemptions)
Redemption Hold (Days) Fund-specific 90 days (NTF/OneSource funds; some Schwab Funds exempt)
Early Redemption Fee Fund-specific $49.95 online/automated phone; $49.95 + $25 broker-assisted
Accounts: Margin Accounts? Yes Yes ($2,000 min. cash or marginable securities)
IRAs Offered? Yes; Traditional and Roth Yes (Traditional, Roth, SEP, Rollover, Inherited, Custodial, SIMPLE)
HSAs Offered? No Yes (HSBA via participating HSA providers; no standalone Schwab HSA)
Money Market Sweep? No Yes (Cash Features Program: Bank Sweep or Schwab One Interest)
CDs Offered? No Yes (brokered CDs via Schwab CD OneSource)
Robo-Advisor: Offered No Yes
Robo-Advisor Service None Schwab Intelligent Portfolios® (Premium also offered)
Robo-Advisor Fees Not applicable $0 advisory (standard); $300 one-time + $30/mo (Premium); ETF OERs 0.02–0.15%. Mins $5k/$25k.
Basics: Headquarters Charlotte, NC Westlake, TX
Year Founded 2012 1971
Clearing Firm Apex Clearing Inc. Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. (self-clearing)
Local Branches? No Yes, more than 420 branches in 48 U.S. states
New Account Minimum $0

Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com


Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio

Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.

Recipe Investing Logo

Compare Tradier to All Brokers