Ally Invest vs Tradier Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)
Ally Invest and Tradier are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.
| Feature | Ally Invest | Tradier |
|---|---|---|
| Website | https://www.ally.com/invest/ | https://tradier.com/ |
| Broker Type | Discount (online self-directed brokerage) | API/Discount |
| Trading: Stock & ETF? | Yes | Yes |
| ETF & Stock commission | $0 eligible US stocks/ETFs ($2+); $4.95 + $0.01/share if <$2 | $0.35/trade Lite; $0 Pro/Pro Plus |
| Fractional Shares? | No | No |
| Percent Allocations? | No | No |
| Crypto Trading? | No | No |
| Crypto Fees | N/A | Not applicable |
| Options Trading? | Yes | Yes |
| Options Fee | $0 commission + $0.50 per contract | $0.35/contract Lite; $0 Pro; $0.10 Pro Plus (index options) |
| Bond Trading Available? | Yes | No |
| Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? | Yes | Yes |
| Interface: Web trading? | Yes | Yes |
| Desktop trading? | No | Yes; Tradier Desktop |
| API Trading? | No | Yes; Tradier Brokerage API |
| Mutual Funds: Offered? | Yes | Yes |
| Total Mutual Funds | Thousands (500+ fund families) | Not publicly stated |
| NTF Mutual Funds | Over 5,400 | Not publicly stated |
| Non-NTF Fund Fee | $0 (no-load); fund loads otherwise | $30 transaction; $10 NTF ticket |
| Early Redemption Fee? | Yes (no Ally fee) | Varies by fund |
| Redemption Hold (Days) | Varies by fund (prospectus); no Ally broker hold period listed | Fund-specific |
| Early Redemption Fee | Fund-specific (often 0–2%); Ally $0 for no-load sales | Fund-specific |
| Accounts: Margin Accounts? | Yes ($2,000 minimum equity required) | Yes |
| IRAs Offered? | Yes (Traditional/Roth/Rollover at Invest; SEP at Ally Bank) | Yes; Traditional and Roth |
| HSAs Offered? | No | No |
| Money Market Sweep? | Yes (Apex FDIC bank sweep; 0% interest) | No |
| CDs Offered? | Yes (brokered CDs; $24.95 per transaction) | No |
| Robo-Advisor: Offered | Yes | No |
| Robo-Advisor Service | Robo Portfolios | None |
| Robo-Advisor Fees | 0% cash-enhanced (30% cash buffer) or 0.30% market-focused; ETF expenses extra | Not applicable |
| Basics: Headquarters | Charlotte, NC | Charlotte, NC |
| Year Founded | 2017 | 2012 |
| Clearing Firm | Apex Clearing Corporation | Apex Clearing Inc. |
| Local Branches? | No | No |
| New Account Minimum | $0 |
Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com
Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio
Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.
Compare Ally Invest to All Brokers
- Compare Ally Invest to Alpaca
- Compare Ally Invest to Axos Invest
- Compare Ally Invest to Charles Schwab
- Compare Ally Invest to E*Trade
- Compare Ally Invest to Fidelity
- Compare Ally Invest to Firstrade
- Compare Ally Invest to Interactive Brokers
- Compare Ally Invest to M1 Finance
- Compare Ally Invest to Merrill Edge
- Compare Ally Invest to Public.com
- Compare Ally Invest to Robinhood
- Compare Ally Invest to SoFi Invest
- Compare Ally Invest to SogoTrade
- Compare Ally Invest to Stash
- Compare Ally Invest to Tastytrade
- Compare Ally Invest to Tradestation
- Compare Ally Invest to Tradier
- Compare Ally Invest to Vanguard
- Compare Ally Invest to WeBull
- Compare Ally Invest to ZacksTrade
