SoFi Invest vs ZacksTrade Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)

SoFi Invest and ZacksTrade are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.


Head-to-Head Comparison: SoFi Invest vs ZacksTrade (2026)
Feature SoFi Invest ZacksTrade
Website https://www.sofi.com/invest/ https://www.zackstrade.com/
Broker Type Discount (self-directed online brokerage + robo-advisor) Discount
Trading: Stock & ETF? Yes Yes
ETF & Stock commission $0 commissions $0.01 per share (minimum $1); 1% of trade value below $1/share
Fractional Shares? Yes ($5 min on select stocks/ETFs) No
Percent Allocations? No Yes; Rebalance Portfolio
Crypto Trading? Yes. SoFi Crypto offers 28 cryptocurrencies (as of May 2026); requires SoFi Checking & Savings. No
Crypto Fees Tiered 1.90%/1.50%/1.25%/0.90% of trade value by monthly volume (<$1k/$1-5k/$5-10k/$10k+); possible ≤0.10% spread. Not applicable
Options Trading? Yes. Options trading available (long calls/puts, covered calls, cash-secured puts; 0DTE and IRAs). Yes
Options Fee $0 commissions and $0 contract fees. Regulatory fees apply (e.g., ORF $0.02, OCC $0.025 per contract). $1 for first contract + $0.75 per additional
Bond Trading Available? No. Individual bonds not offered; exposure via bond ETFs and mutual funds only. Yes; corporate and government bonds
Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? Yes. Receives payment-for-order-flow revenue share via Apex Clearing. Yes
Interface: Web trading? Yes. Full trading on SoFi mobile app (iOS/Android) and sofi.com website. Yes
Desktop trading? No Yes; Zacks Trade Pro/Client Portal/app
API Trading? No No
Mutual Funds: Offered? Yes Yes
Total Mutual Funds 6,800+ Not publicly stated
NTF Mutual Funds 6,800 Not publicly stated
Non-NTF Fund Fee 0.2% of purchase (max $20); 2% for interval/tender funds $27.50
Early Redemption Fee? Yes (no SoFi short-term fee) Varies by fund
Redemption Hold (Days) Fund-specific (CDSC varies by fund); no SoFi-imposed hold. Fund-specific
Early Redemption Fee Fund-specific CDSC (varies); SoFi charges none (purchase tx fee 0.2% max $20). Fund-specific
Accounts: Margin Accounts? Yes (Self-Directed; apply, $2,000 min). Yes
IRAs Offered? Yes: Traditional, Roth, and SEP IRAs. Yes; Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover
HSAs Offered? No No
Money Market Sweep? Yes (optional FDIC bank sweep via Apex). No
CDs Offered? No No
Robo-Advisor: Offered Yes No
Robo-Advisor Service SoFi Automated Investing (Robo Investing) None
Robo-Advisor Fees 0.25% annual wrap/advisory fee plus fund expenses; $50 min. Not applicable
Basics: Headquarters San Francisco, CA Chicago, IL
Year Founded 2011 2013
Clearing Firm Apex Clearing Corporation Interactive Brokers LLC
Local Branches? No No; online broker
New Account Minimum $0 $0

Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com


Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio

Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.

Recipe Investing Logo

Compare SoFi Invest to All Brokers