Merrill Edge vs Tradier Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)
Merrill Edge and Tradier are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.
| Feature | Merrill Edge | Tradier |
|---|---|---|
| Website | https://www.merrilledge.com/ | https://tradier.com/ |
| Broker Type | Self-directed discount/online brokerage | API/Discount |
| Trading: Stock & ETF? | Yes | Yes |
| ETF & Stock commission | $0 online commissions (ETF sales $0.01–$0.03 per $1,000 principal) | $0.35/trade Lite; $0 Pro/Pro Plus |
| Fractional Shares? | No | No |
| Percent Allocations? | No | No |
| Crypto Trading? | No | No |
| Crypto Fees | N/A | Not applicable |
| Options Trading? | Yes | Yes |
| Options Fee | $0 + $0.65 per contract online; $0 exercise/assignment. Broker-assisted extra. | $0.35/contract Lite; $0 Pro; $0.10 Pro Plus (index options) |
| Bond Trading Available? | Yes | No |
| Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? | No; limited options-exchange payments | Yes |
| Interface: Web trading? | Yes | Yes |
| Desktop trading? | No (MarketPro is browser-based, not a downloadable desktop app) | Yes; Tradier Desktop |
| API Trading? | No (no public retail trading API) | Yes; Tradier Brokerage API |
| Mutual Funds: Offered? | Yes | Yes |
| Total Mutual Funds | Thousands | Not publicly stated |
| NTF Mutual Funds | Many NTF (exact count unpublished) | Not publicly stated |
| Non-NTF Fund Fee | $19.95 per online transaction (buys, sells, exchanges) for no-load TF funds | $30 transaction; $10 NTF ticket |
| Early Redemption Fee? | No ($39.95 short-term redemption fee on NTF funds held <90 days) | Varies by fund |
| Redemption Hold (Days) | 90 days (NTF funds) | Fund-specific |
| Early Redemption Fee | $39.95 (NTF funds held <90 days) | Fund-specific |
| Accounts: Margin Accounts? | Yes | Yes |
| IRAs Offered? | Yes (Traditional, Roth, SEP) | Yes; Traditional and Roth |
| HSAs Offered? | Yes (Individual HSA) | No |
| Money Market Sweep? | Yes | No |
| CDs Offered? | Yes (brokered CDs) | No |
| Robo-Advisor: Offered | Yes | No |
| Robo-Advisor Service | Merrill Guided Investing | None |
| Robo-Advisor Fees | 0.45% AUM online; 0.85% with advisor (monthly in advance). Preferred Rewards discounts 0.05-0.15%. Fund expenses extra. | Not applicable |
| Basics: Headquarters | New York, NY | Charlotte, NC |
| Year Founded | 2010 | 2012 |
| Clearing Firm | Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. (self-clearing) | Apex Clearing Inc. |
| Local Branches? | Yes (~3,530 Bank of America financial centers, U.S., as of Q2 2026) | No |
| New Account Minimum | $0 (self-directed) |
Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com
Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio
Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.
Compare Merrill Edge to All Brokers
- Compare Merrill Edge to Ally Invest
- Compare Merrill Edge to Alpaca
- Compare Merrill Edge to Axos Invest
- Compare Merrill Edge to Charles Schwab
- Compare Merrill Edge to E*Trade
- Compare Merrill Edge to Fidelity
- Compare Merrill Edge to Firstrade
- Compare Merrill Edge to Interactive Brokers
- Compare Merrill Edge to M1 Finance
- Compare Merrill Edge to Public.com
- Compare Merrill Edge to Robinhood
- Compare Merrill Edge to SoFi Invest
- Compare Merrill Edge to SogoTrade
- Compare Merrill Edge to Stash
- Compare Merrill Edge to Tastytrade
- Compare Merrill Edge to Tradestation
- Compare Merrill Edge to Tradier
- Compare Merrill Edge to Vanguard
- Compare Merrill Edge to WeBull
- Compare Merrill Edge to ZacksTrade
