Public.com vs Tradier Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)

Public.com and Tradier are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.


Head-to-Head Comparison: Public.com vs Tradier (2026)
Feature Public.com Tradier
Website https://www.public.com/ https://tradier.com/
Broker Type Discount (self-directed online retail brokerage) API/Discount
Trading: Stock & ETF? Yes Yes
ETF & Stock commission $0 regular hours (US-listed); $2.99 extended/OTC (waived for Premium) $0.35/trade Lite; $0 Pro/Pro Plus
Fractional Shares? Yes ($5 min outside plans; $1 in Investment Plans) No
Percent Allocations? Yes (Investment Plans: custom 1% allocations; Direct Indexing weighting) No
Crypto Trading? Yes (via zerohash; 60+ assets including BTC/ETH; 24/7; $1 min). No
Crypto Fees zerohash: $0.49–$6.29 (≤$500); 1.25% (>$500). Recurring plans 1.25%. API volume-tiered (0.10–0.60%). Not applicable
Options Trading? Yes (stock, ETF, and index options; multi-leg strategies). Yes
Options Fee $0 commission/per-contract for stock/ETF options plus $0.06–$0.18 rebate/contract. Index: $0.35–$0.50/contract. Regulatory fees apply. $0.35/contract Lite; $0 Pro; $0.10 Pro Plus (index options)
Bond Trading Available? Yes (fractional Treasury/corporate from $100; Bond Account; municipals coming soon). No
Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? Yes (receives PFOF on options and wholesale equity routing). Yes
Interface: Web trading? Yes (full web platform plus iOS/Android apps). Yes
Desktop trading? No. Web platform and mobile apps only; no native downloadable desktop trading software. Yes; Tradier Desktop
API Trading? Yes. Public Trading API (stocks, ETFs, options, crypto, bonds) available to all members; no approval required. Yes; Tradier Brokerage API
Mutual Funds: Offered? No Yes
Total Mutual Funds None Not publicly stated
NTF Mutual Funds None Not publicly stated
Non-NTF Fund Fee N/A $30 transaction; $10 NTF ticket
Early Redemption Fee? N/A Varies by fund
Redemption Hold (Days) N/A Fund-specific
Early Redemption Fee N/A Fund-specific
Accounts: Margin Accounts? Yes Yes
IRAs Offered? Yes (Traditional and Roth); no SEP Yes; Traditional and Roth
HSAs Offered? No No
Money Market Sweep? Yes (High-Yield Cash Account bank sweep) No
CDs Offered? No No
Robo-Advisor: Offered Yes, via Public Advisors LLC automated Direct Indexing, Generated Assets, and Treasury Accounts. No
Robo-Advisor Service Public Advisors (Direct Indexing, Generated Assets, Treasury Accounts) None
Robo-Advisor Fees Direct Indexing 0.19% AUM annual; Generated Assets 0.49%; Treasury Accounts tiered 0.09%-0.29%. Brokerage fees may apply. Not applicable
Basics: Headquarters New York, NY Charlotte, NC
Year Founded 2019 2012
Clearing Firm Apex Clearing Corporation Apex Clearing Inc.
Local Branches? No No
New Account Minimum $0 (no account minimums; as little as $1 to start)

Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com


Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio

Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.

Recipe Investing Logo

Compare Public.com to All Brokers