Interactive Brokers vs ZacksTrade Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)

Interactive Brokers and ZacksTrade are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.


Head-to-Head Comparison: Interactive Brokers vs ZacksTrade (2026)
Feature Interactive Brokers ZacksTrade
Website https://www.interactivebrokers.com/ https://www.zackstrade.com/
Broker Type Self-directed online discount broker Discount
Trading: Stock & ETF? Yes Yes
ETF & Stock commission IBKR Lite: $0 US-listed stocks/ETFs (US residents); IBKR Pro: $0.005/share fixed (min $1) or $0.0005–$0.0035/share tiered (min $0.35) $0.01 per share (minimum $1); 1% of trade value below $1/share
Fractional Shares? Yes (eligible US/CA/EU stocks & ETFs, from $1) No
Percent Allocations? Yes (TWS Rebalance Portfolio sets custom target %) Yes; Rebalance Portfolio
Crypto Trading? Yes (spot crypto via Paxos/Zero Hash for eligible US IB LLC clients; permissions required; also futures/ETPs) No
Crypto Fees 0.12%–0.18% of trade value (monthly volume tiers), USD 1.75 min/order (capped at 1% of value); no added spreads/markups/custody fees; possible $0.15/mo Paxos fee Not applicable
Options Trading? Yes Yes
Options Fee US: Lite $0.65/contract ($1 min; Pro rates after 1k contracts/mo); Pro $0.15–$0.65/contract (volume/premium tiers), $1 min/order + exchange/reg/clearing fees $1 for first contract + $0.75 per additional
Bond Trading Available? Yes (US Treasuries, corporates, munis, CDs, 1M+ global bonds) Yes; corporate and government bonds
Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? Sometimes (Lite receives PFOF on US stocks/options; Pro generally avoids via SmartRouting) Yes
Interface: Web trading? Yes (Client Portal web; IBKR Mobile and GlobalTrader apps) Yes
Desktop trading? Yes; Trader Workstation (TWS) and IBKR Desktop. Yes; Zacks Trade Pro/Client Portal/app
API Trading? Yes; TWS API and Web API for retail algorithmic trading. No
Mutual Funds: Offered? Yes Yes
Total Mutual Funds 50,000+ Not publicly stated
NTF Mutual Funds 20,000+ Not publicly stated
Non-NTF Fund Fee Lesser of 3% of trade value or USD 14.95 per transaction (US). $27.50
Early Redemption Fee? Yes (no IBKR fee); fund companies may charge per prospectus. Varies by fund
Redemption Hold (Days) None by IBKR (0 days); fund prospectus may impose. Fund-specific
Early Redemption Fee $0 from IBKR; funds may charge per prospectus. Fund-specific
Accounts: Margin Accounts? Yes (Cash, Margin, or Portfolio Margin; typically $2,000 equity for margin). Yes
IRAs Offered? Yes (Traditional, Roth, SEP, SIMPLE, Inherited, Rollover). Yes; Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover
HSAs Offered? No No
Money Market Sweep? Yes (Insured Bank Deposit Sweep Program). No
CDs Offered? Yes (brokered CDs). No
Robo-Advisor: Offered Yes No
Robo-Advisor Service Interactive Advisors None
Robo-Advisor Fees 0.10%–0.75% AUM/year (varies by portfolio; IA 0.10%–0.20%, managers 0.25%–0.75%); no commissions Not applicable
Basics: Headquarters Greenwich, CT Chicago, IL
Year Founded 1977 2013
Clearing Firm Self-clearing Interactive Brokers LLC
Local Branches? No No; online broker
New Account Minimum $0 $0

Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com


Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio

Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.

Recipe Investing Logo

Compare Interactive Brokers to All Brokers