Charles Schwab vs Tradier Comparison: Fees, Features, and More (2026)

Charles Schwab and Tradier are two leading discount brokerages offering commission-free stock and ETF trading. Use this head-to-head comparison table to evaluate fees, features, trading tools, and account options to help you decide which broker is right for you in 2026.


Head-to-Head Comparison: Charles Schwab vs Tradier (2026)
Feature Charles Schwab Tradier
Website https://www.schwab.com/ https://tradier.com/
Broker Type Full-service API/Discount
Trading: Stock & ETF? Yes Yes
ETF & Stock commission $0 online (listed stocks/ETFs) $0.35/trade Lite; $0 Pro/Pro Plus
Fractional Shares? Yes (most U.S.-listed stocks/ETFs, from $1) No
Percent Allocations? Yes (Personalized Portfolio Builder) No
Crypto Trading? Yes, via Schwab Crypto (BTC/ETH currently; not NY/LA/territories) No
Crypto Fees 0.75% of notional value (min $0.01) per buy/sell Not applicable
Options Trading? Yes Yes
Options Fee $0 online commission + $0.65 per contract $0.35/contract Lite; $0 Pro; $0.10 Pro Plus (index options)
Bond Trading Available? Yes No
Receives payment for order flow (PFOF)? Yes (receives PFOF rebates) Yes
Interface: Web trading? Yes Yes
Desktop trading? Yes, thinkorswim desktop (Windows/Mac; free for brokerage clients) Yes; Tradier Desktop
API Trading? Yes, Trader API (Individual) for self-directed retail accounts (orders, data; via developer.schwab.com) Yes; Tradier Brokerage API
Mutual Funds: Offered? Yes Yes
Total Mutual Funds ~14,500 from 600+ families (incl. 4,000+ NTF) Not publicly stated
NTF Mutual Funds 4,000+ (no-load via OneSource & others) Not publicly stated
Non-NTF Fund Fee Up to $74.95/buy online ($0 sell); some $49.95; 8.5% cap, <$100 exempt $30 transaction; $10 NTF ticket
Early Redemption Fee? No; $49.95 Schwab fee on NTF funds held ≤90 days (some exemptions) Varies by fund
Redemption Hold (Days) 90 days (NTF/OneSource funds; some Schwab Funds exempt) Fund-specific
Early Redemption Fee $49.95 online/automated phone; $49.95 + $25 broker-assisted Fund-specific
Accounts: Margin Accounts? Yes ($2,000 min. cash or marginable securities) Yes
IRAs Offered? Yes (Traditional, Roth, SEP, Rollover, Inherited, Custodial, SIMPLE) Yes; Traditional and Roth
HSAs Offered? Yes (HSBA via participating HSA providers; no standalone Schwab HSA) No
Money Market Sweep? Yes (Cash Features Program: Bank Sweep or Schwab One Interest) No
CDs Offered? Yes (brokered CDs via Schwab CD OneSource) No
Robo-Advisor: Offered Yes No
Robo-Advisor Service Schwab Intelligent Portfolios® (Premium also offered) None
Robo-Advisor Fees $0 advisory (standard); $300 one-time + $30/mo (Premium); ETF OERs 0.02–0.15%. Mins $5k/$25k. Not applicable
Basics: Headquarters Westlake, TX Charlotte, NC
Year Founded 1971 2012
Clearing Firm Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. (self-clearing) Apex Clearing Inc.
Local Branches? Yes, more than 420 branches in 48 U.S. states No
New Account Minimum $0

Once you’ve chosen a broker, find high-performing, investable model portfolios at RecipeInvesting.com


Picked a Broker? Now Build Your Perfect Portfolio

Find high-performing, investable model portfolios (Tactical, Strategic, and Managed) at RecipeInvesting.com.

Recipe Investing Logo

Compare Charles Schwab to All Brokers